Capellini with Garlic and Lemon

I’m always craving a good pasta, it honestly is one of my absolute favorite things…a perfectly al dente pasta with a well balanced sauce

Unfortunately, I’m also a college student on a college student’s budget. So no fancy pasta for me… Therefore, I have to make it myself.

IMG_3706

This time I made capellini with garlic and lemon.. a recipe i found on the internet that sounded pretttyyy tasty. and easy! Just mince a lot of garlic, around 5 large cloves worth and add them to 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil with 3/4 tsp of hot pepper flakes on a skillet heating on high. Simultaneously cook however much Capellini (Angel’s Hair) pasta as you wish (I used 1 lb) in salted water until Al dente and reserve 3/4 cup of pasta water as its full of starch so perfect for pasta sauce.

Add 1/2 cup of that pasta water to your garlic/olive oil/chili after its been sautéing for ~5 min. along with 2 or 3 lemons worth of zest and 4 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, 1 1/2 tsp of salt, and 1/2 tsp of pepper and tada! you have a sauce.

Now toss your pasta in the sauce (still in the skillet), remove some onto a plate. coat in fresh parmesan cheese. garnish with parsley and remaining lemon zest. and eat!

makin lemon pasta

It was quite quite tasty. Really. I will for sure eat it again.

 

Leave a Reply

